Your Quick Guide to: Romcoms

Girly films
These films may not be in the top running for awards or whatever and you don’t have to be a brain surgeon to figure out what’s going to happen at the end, but they’re so much fun to watch! You can never tell whether romcoms are good or not as the critics always say they’re rubbish. Mostly because they’re guys. But here’s a girl’s take on them:

27 Dresses
Starring Katherine Heigl and James Marsden
I bought this on the spur of the moment and I’m so glad I did. Although I thought it would be full of awesome dresses, the ’27 dresses’ are actually horrible bridesmaid ones she’s forced to wear. James Marsden is awesome and Katherine Heigl is funny and very likeable. It’s a very typical romantic comedy but who cares?? And the music is cool. The only thing I don’t like is her boss whom she fancies. He annoys me.

Confessions of a Shopaholic
Starring Isla Fisher and Hugh Dancy
When I saw this in the cinema I actually laughed and it takes a lot to make me laugh at a film. I love the bit where she’s like “Oh my gosh, what’s that? Oh, it’s a naked man. Clearly he’s beheaded, who would do that to him?”- she’s talking about a poster, not an actual headless naked guy! Isla Fisher is so funny!

The Devil Wears Prada
Starring Anne Hathaway and Emily Blunt
Okay, so this is a kind of romcom but not so much about her falling in love with some guy. Emily Blunt is the best and I love all their clothes and make-up! And the music is amazing.

Mr and Mrs Smith
Starring Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Ooh, the infamous film where they got together in real life too! Trouble is, I just can’t hate Angelina Jolie, she’s just too cool. The music, story, script and actors are all amazing in this and there’s no bits that I want to forward wind or anything. Perfect!

Moulin Rouge!
Starring Nicole Kidman and Ewan MacGregor
Awesome!! Crazy, but awesome! The songs are just so catchy, you can’t get them out your head for AGES, which is actually kind of annoying when you don’t know all the lyrics. It’s sad too so be warned.

10 Things I Hate About You
Starring Julia Stiles and Heath Ledger
I caught this on TV a while back and had to get it on DVD. Heath Ledger is just awesome as the bad boy at school and Julia Stiles’ dad in the film is just so funny! There’s lots of lines that make me laugh like Joseph Gordon Levitt saying that Julia Stiles only likes pretty guys and Heath Ledger gets all offended and says ‘you think I’m not a pretty guy?’ ha ha ha!! Awesome.

Just Like Heaven
Starring Reese Witherspoon and Mark Ruffalo
I saw this in class one time but didn’t think much of it, mostly because the teacher kept forward winding bits. But I saw it on TV the other day and really liked it. There’s really funny bits where Mark Ruffalo is talking to her but she’s a ghost so no one else can see her and they’re wondering what on earth he’s on about.

13 Going on 30
Starring Jennifer Garner and Mark Ruffalo
This is just so fun and the music is really cool! Jennifer Garner is awesome at pretending to be a 13 year old in a 30 year old’s body and her boyfriend is just so funny.

The Princess Diaries 1 & 2
Starring Anne Hathaway and Julie Andrews
1 is just the best and 2 gets a special mention because of Chris Pine.

Slightly off topic now…
I’ve been watching Tru Calling with Eliza Dushku which I got on DVD for Christmas and which I saw when it came out, whenever that was (then it got cancelled). And it has Matt Bomer in. The guy from White Collar. He’s awesome and as soon as he arrived in the fourth episode it got so much better! Sigh..

 

About rutheb

Love fashion and video games, make-up and reading, writing, watching films and looking at fashion magazines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

